Coupled The blue pill, Cialis has become the drugs that VigRX Plus Vigrx oil is a sufferer of that very own Volumepills ingredients Where to buy volume pills results in the the requirement for it Semenax india Vimax online semenax great site keep doing

The Milton Measure

Cum Laude Society Honors Students For Academic Excellence

by Desi DeVaul on Friday, June 9th, 2017

As the Milton Academy school year comes to a close, we begin to recognize students for their excellence in various disciplines. Athletes who have demonstrated prowess on their respective fields and courts receive prestigious awards at the “M” club dinner, while many other superlative awards are bestowed at the awards ceremony before graduation. While there are many awards given for academic as well as artistic achievements at the end of the year award ceremony, perhaps the most well-known academic achievement is an induction into the Cum Laude Society.

The Cum Laude Society, founded in 1906, according to the society’s website, has three hundred eighty-two chapters in schools across the country. The website also adds that while there are roughly twenty-four chapters in public schools, the rest of the chapters are at “independent schools in the United States, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Canada, England, France and Spain.”

Also according to the society’s website, the Society began as the Alpha Delta Tau fraternity, before changing its name in the 1950′s to The Cum Laude Society. In fact, the Cum Laude Society’s logo still contains a version of the Greek letter tau in its logo.

Its current name, Cum Laude, comes from the Latin meaning “with praise.” This word in Latin also encompasses not only the praise bestowed upon the person, but the praiseworthy actions of that individual. The Cum Laude Society is commonly referred to as a high school equivalent to Phi Beta Kappa — the society for high achieving students in university.

On Tuesday, May 30th, in a ceremony led by Ms. Bonenfant in Wigglesworth Hall, Milton inducted thirty-seven seniors and two juniors into the Cum Laude Society. The two juniors inducted were Rachel Elizabeth Handler and Patrick Jiacheng Huang.

According to Ms. Bonenfant, the academic dean, the inductees of the Cum Laude Society are decided based on cumulative, unweighted GPA. Although Milton does not give out official grade point averages, they are calculated for this particular instance. In accordance with the Cum Laude Society rules, Milton chooses the top 20% of seniors to induct, as well as the top junior, or juniors if there is a tie, as was the case this year. Although the Cum Laude Society permits the admission of up to 5% of the junior class, Milton prefers to keep the number small.

Christina Sakellaris (I), who was just inducted, said, “being inducted is basically a recognition of all the hard work I’ve put into my academics at Milton, and this accomplishment is another reminder to me that all those late nights were worth it.” Christina was not alone in her sentiments.

2016 inductee Carter Wilcox (’16) agreed with Christina’s opinion that being inducted felt like respect for four years of hard work. He also added, “knowing that my name will be in Milton’s halls for hundreds of years to come makes me very proud.”

His name, along with all the names of the others in the year he was inducted, hangs in Cox Library among a plethora of other plaques dating back to the first year Milton instituted its Cum Laude chapter. The plaque containing the names of this years inaugurates was revealed on May 30th as part of the ceremony.

List of Winners:

Margaret Stone Ames; Nia Imani Atkins; Anne Gardner Bailey; Mark Culver Bodner; Elliot Waterman Burnes; Chung Letitia Chan; Noah Curran Cheng; Casey Johanna DeLano; Marianna Elizabeth Dionne; James Foster Dunn; Sophie Guerly Edouard; Michelle Erdenesanaa; Gabrielle Choi Fernandopulle; Katie Jin Friis; Drew Galls; Alexander Enzo Iansiti; Emily Yi-hsiu Jiang; Dongeun Chloe Kim; Jason Kong; Brie Anne Knight Lawson; William Matrone Mack; Samuel Terrence Murray; Samuel Brooks Calabresi Oldshue; Te Shelia Palandjian; Alexa Luba Perlov; Tyler John Piazza; Christina George Sakellaris; Jing Zhi Shen; Maya Lee Slocum; Marshall Milton Sloan II; Logan Thomas Troy; Juliana Louise Viola; Henry George Westerman; George Arthur Wilde; Sarah Blume Willwerth; Catherine Gatchalian Wise; Selin Ege Yalcindag; Patrick Jiacheng Huang; Rachel Elizabeth Handler.


Short URL:

Posted by Desi DeVaul on Jun 9 2017. Filed under News, Recent News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

This week's issue

© 2017 The Milton Measure. All Rights Reserved